Super Pang

Play Super Pang

Play Super Pang by Capcom.
Use the arrows to move and space-bar to shot the arrows/drills in order to blast the balloons.

About Super Pang

Super Pang was designed by the duo Toshihiko Uda and Futosi Kuwahara. It is a joint venture of Capcom Co. Ltd and Mitchell Corporation (a video game enterprise based in Tokyo and headed by Roy Ozaki), with the latter credited with the development of the game and the former with the successful launch and promotion of the game in international markets.

The game is also known as the Super Buster Bros, and is the second instalment of the commercially successful Pang franchise.

Though initially, it was popularised as an arcade video game, later on the developers saw it fit to adapt the software and port it to other virtual platforms. The graphics was modified to adapt itself to other GUIs or graphic user interfaces and Operating Systems.

This objective was accomplished when the designers came out with another version of the game that could be run on a Super NES (Super Nintendo Entertainment System, a video game console that comes equipped with its own display device and gaming controls). This was done in the year 1992.

Super Pang Gameplay

  • The game can be played by two players (though the Super Nintendo platform accommodates only one, the Arcade version and the one built for Playstation allow two players), whereby the primary goal is to burst the bubbles that are shown on the screen.
  • The players can choose their individual modes. The game has two main modes- the Panic Mode and the Arcade mode.
  • On popping one of these bubbles, the target bubble duplicates into two bubbles, but of diminished size.
  • The relentless onslaught of bubbles gradually decreases as the player keeps on shooting.
  • The progress of the player is tracked by a bar at the bottom of the screen. When this bar fills up completely, it is an indication that the current stage has come to an end.
  • The panic mode consists of 99 levels.
  • The player can move through the different regions of the world in the arcade mode and combat different types of monsters.
  • The locations themselves comprise of three subordinate stages.
  • The arcade mode can be further categorised into four types, depending on the levels of difficulty faced by the player. These are – Easy, Normal, Hard and Expert.